County extension council

The county extension council, comprised of elected and appointed citizens, is a full partner with Missouri's land-grant universities to deliver high-quality education and research-based information that helps people solve real-world problems and take advantage of opportunities.

Council members:

  • Work with extension specialists to provide the county educational program
  • Manage finances of local extension operations
  • Provide personnel to carry out extension activities
  • Elect and organize the local extension council

Council resource toolbox

The council resource toolbox is designed to assist council members and officers to best carry out their office duties and serve the constituents that they represent.

The Shelby County Extension Council meets at 7:00 p.m. on the third Thursday of the month every other month. Full council meeting months are January, March, May, July, September, and November. The public is invited. We recommend calling ahead to confirm time and location.

County extension council officers

John Smith, Chair
Term ends February 2019

Kathy Lund, Vice Chair
Term ends February 2020

Melissa McWilliams, Secretary
Term ends February 2019

Debbie Barrick, Treasurer
Term ends February 2019

County extension council members

Charlene Brengle
Term ends February 2020

Dennie Carothers
Term ends February 2020

Alan Denham
Term ends February 2020

Kelly McEwen
Term ends February 2020

Larry Roberts
Term ends February 2020

Missouri elected officials serving this county


District 005


District 18