4-H Clubs in Douglas County

Ava 4-H Club (Ava)

Club leader: Cindy Jacobitz, cindyjacobitz@gmail.com  

Ava 4-H will hold its next meeting on October 25th at 6:30 pm at the Trinity Lutheran Church.

Skyline 4-H Club (Skyline Elementary School)

Club leader: Jana Brixey, brixeyjanak@gmail.com

Up'n At't

Club Leader: Missy Rogers, missyrogers@yahoo.com

See the 2018-19 Missouri 4-H catalog of projects, programs and publications


For information about local 4-H clubs and activities, contact Dr. Krista Tate at the MU Extension Office in Douglas County at 417-683-4409.

Do you have a child who could benefit from being a member of a 4-H club? Or are you interested in being a 4-H leader?


Member Enrollment - Begins October 1

Online enrollment is from October to August at mo.4honline.com.  A link to the detailed, step-by-step instructions is included on the login screen, but we think you will find the system very easy to navigate.


1.  Enrollment is online only, so if you do not have internet access at home you can go to the library or you can make an appointment to come into the Extension Center.  Estimated time to enroll a family of 4 to be between 20-45 minutes.

2.  What do families need to have in hand when enrolling youth?

      * An active email address

      * Your demographic date (address, phone numbers, etc.)

      * Your club name and projects you wish to enroll in.

      * Health information

      * Pay by credit card or personal check.  4-H membership costs $25 per year.  

Until dues have been paid in full, the members enrollment status will remain in pending status. 

Help with dues 

Are you a member of one of the following insurance companies?  If so, you could be eligible for help with your 4-H membership dues.

Call Member Services to request a voucher.

      * Aetna/HealthCare USA 1-800-566-6444

      * Home State                   1-855-694-4663

      * Missouri Care                1-800-322-6027

Take the original signed and dated voucher to the Douglas County Extension Office.

Please let us know if you have any questions.

State site:  http://4h.missouri.edu  (Project information, end of the year reports, and much more can be found on this site.)



How would you like to inspire youth in your community?  Do you have a skill or talent you would like to share or you do you just want to give back to your community?  We are always looking for caring adults to help the Douglas County 4-H program continue to grow.   

To get started we need you to fill out a background check.  This form may be obtained at the Douglas County Extension Office.  There is no fee for a background check.  You will also enroll on the Missouri 4HOnline website.  There is no cost for volunteers to enroll.  The next step is to complete a one-time orientation that can be accessed through the 4H online.  

If you have any questions over any of the above information, please email Dr. Krista Tate at tatekr@missouri.edu or call 417-683-4409.

How to join 4-H

University of Missouri Extension 4-H

Empowering young people to reach their full potential

4-H brings young people, ages 5 to 19, and adults together to learn everyday skills through hands-on learning. Working on activities from animal and plant sciences to robotics, 4-H’ers learn problem-solving skills that can make a positive impact upon our community. Through 4-H, young people learn to:

  • meet the diverse challenges of today’s world;
  • build self-confidence;
  • learn responsibility; and
  • make positive decisions.
4-H clubs

4-H clubs are open to ages 8 to 18. Clubs meet monthly for group activities and club business. Each club elects officers and has an approved adult leader who supervises club activities. Club members also enroll in projects in their areas of interest.

With projects on more than 75 topics, 4-H has something to interest every child. Here are just a few of the opportunities 4-H offers—geocaching, robotics, international exchanges, horsemanship, pets, starting a business, arts and crafts, raising animals, woodworking, photography and gardening.

Clover Kids clubs

Clover Kids introduces 5- to 7-year-olds to the 4-H experience. In Clover Kids, children learn how to get along with others, work in groups, explore their interests, while building self-confidence. Clover Kids do not enroll in projects or raise animals, and do not participate in competitive events, contests or shows.

How to join

Joining 4-H is as easy as contacting the extension center. A staff member will explain the enrollment process and membership dues. In addition to dues, some projects may require a small investment to get started, and there may be a fee for materials, trips or other activities.

Young people are welcome to join at any time. The 4-H program year runs from Sept. 1 to Aug. 31. Certain activities may have participation deadlines.


4-H Online enrollment system
Missouri 4-H Clover—A guide to 4-H projects, activities and publications. It is designed to assist volunteers, members and their families select projects and activities, and set goals.

Be a 4-H volunteer

Adult volunteers are essential to 4-H. Adult volunteers serve as club or project leaders, help with county or regional events, chair committees and organize fund raisers. You don't have to be a parent or grandparent of the 4-H member to get involved. All volunteers are screened for child abuse and neglect, as well criminal records, before they are accepted and each year thereafter. As a volunteer, University of Missouri Extension will provide you with training so you will be well-prepared and successful as an adult leader. The orientation includes information on 4-H history and the educational framework, the characteristics of age groups, character development and safety.